The Institute of Molecular Biology at the University of Oregon is an interdisciplinary research community, founded in 1959, dedicated to investigating biological questions at the molecular level. Our collaborative and interactive Institute brings together—from the Departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Physics—scientists using diverse approaches and state-of-the-art facilities. The rich research environment provides exceptional training opportunities for young scientists. To join the IMB as a graduate student, see the Graduate Admissions page.

Institute Director: Ken Prehoda
Untitled Document
Selker Lab research
Neurospora crassa. Fluorescent image of a rosette of maturing asci from a herterozygous cross of a transformant engineered to express GFP-tagged histone H1. Four ascospores of each ascus show glowing nuelei (Freitag et al 2004) Credit N.B. Raju. Selker Lab

Recent IMB Research Publications

StructureStructural basis for regulation of Arp2/3 complex by GMF.
Nature Struct Mol Biol Aug 2013
Nolen Lab

Pete von Hippel Graduate Scholar Award

The Pete von Hippel Graduate Scholar Award was established in 2009 as part of our IMB 50th Anniversary Celebration and Symposium, to honor Pete von Hippel's contributions to the IMB and to recognize each year an outstanding senior graduate student. To learn more about this award, and to make donations, go to the von Hippel Award website.

IMB News

The Institute of Molecular Biology and Department of Biology welcome two new faculty members, Diana Libuda and Annie Powell, starting in Winter 2014!

Chris Doe has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences! Read more...

Eric Selker has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences! Read more...

Department of Physics | Department of Chemistry | Department of Biology | UO Life Sciences | University of Oregon